Part IX of the Indian Constitution: The Panchayats

Part IX of the Indian Constitution deals with the Panchayats, which are local self-governing institutions in rural areas. The idea behind Panchayats is to provide a platform for people in villages to participate in the decision-making process and to enable them to take charge of their own development.

The Panchayati Raj system was introduced in 1959 and underwent significant changes in 1992 with the 73rd Amendment Act. According to this amendment, every state is required to establish a three-tier Panchayati Raj system in its rural areas, consisting of:


  1. Gram Panchayat at the village level
  2. Panchayat Samiti at the block level
  3. Zila Parishad at the district level


Article 243: Definitions
Article 243A: Gram Sabha
Article 243B: Constitution of Panchayats
Article 243C: Composition of Panchayats
Article 243D: Reservation of seats
Article 243E: Duration of Panchayats, etc.,
Article 243F: Disqualifications for membership
Article 243G: Powers, authority and responsibilities of Panchayats
Article 243H: Powers to impose taxes by, and Funds of, the Panchayats
Article 243I: Constitution of Finance Commission to review financial position
Article 243J: Audit of accounts of Panchayats
Article 243K: Elections to the Panchayats
Article 243L: Application to Union territories
Article 243M: Part not to apply to certain areas
Article 243N: Continuance of existing laws and Panchayats
Article 243O: Bar to interference by courts in electoral matters

The Gram Panchayat is the most basic unit of the Panchayati Raj system and is responsible for the administration of a single village or a group of villages. It is headed by a Sarpanch who is elected by the people of the village. The Panchayat Samiti is responsible for a block of several villages and is headed by a Pradhan. The Zila Parishad is responsible for the administration of a district and is headed by a Chairman who is elected by the members of the Parishad.

Part IX of the Constitution provides for the establishment of Panchayats in every state and outlines their functions, powers, and responsibilities. Some of the functions of the Panchayats include the preparation of plans for economic development and social justice, the implementation of government schemes and programs, and the maintenance of essential services like roads, water supply, and sanitation.

The Panchayats also have the power to impose taxes and fees, raise loans, and receive grants from the central and state governments. They are also responsible for the implementation of the provisions of the Constitution relating to the Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes.

Part IX of the Indian Constitution provides a framework for the establishment and functioning of Panchayats in rural areas. The Panchayati Raj system has the potential to bring about significant changes in the rural landscape by enabling local self-governance and ensuring participatory democracy.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *