Part V of Indian Constitution: The Union

Part V of the Indian Constitution deals with the Union government of India. It outlines the structure and functions of the executive, legislative, and judiciary branches of the government.

The executive power of the Union is vested in the President of India, who is elected by an electoral college consisting of members of both houses of parliament and state legislatures. The President is assisted by the Vice President, the Prime Minister, and the Council of Ministers.

The legislative power of the Union is vested in the Parliament of India, which consists of the President, the Rajya Sabha (Council of States), and the Lok Sabha (House of the People). The Parliament has the power to make laws on matters listed in the Union List, as well as the Concurrent List.

The judiciary power of the Union is vested in the Supreme Court of India and other subordinate courts. The Supreme Court is the highest judicial authority in the country and has the power of judicial review.

Other important officials of the Union government include the Attorney General of India, who is the chief legal advisor to the government, and the Comptroller and Auditor General (CAG), who audits all government accounts.

In summary, Part V of the Indian Constitution defines the Union government of India and outlines the powers and functions of its various branches and officials.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *